Skip to content

Santa Barbara OC1 Race

January 18, 2009

Chuck and I schlepped up to Santa Barbara to race in the OC1 race.  The turnout was a bit small but it was fun nonetheless.

p1010240Unfortunately, there were no waves – flat as a pancake.

p10102441Finishing up – still no waves in sight.

p1010238Here’s a picture of Chuck coming down the home stretch – Chuck’s has gotten much faster.  So fast, he’s got me pumped up to train again…

Perhaps the trippiest part about the race was paddling through a very large seaweed field.  What a bizarre feeling hitting all these chunks of seaweed and having your rudder slice right through it.

Vi took the pictures and took care of the beasts as well.  I’m sure she had a better workout than both Chuck and I combined.

p10102251Midas had to carry his weight.

p10102271Keyees was his old monster self.

UPDATE:  Chuck came in 2nd, I came in 4th.  HULI!  HULI! HULI!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2009 11:08 am

    so a fat kid came in first? chuck said he got beat by a fat, like FAT, kid.

  2. chuck permalink
    January 20, 2009 11:20 am

    The fat kid was in the junior division. Sadly, I would have come in third if I was in juniors. I tagged him in FB.

  3. paddlesports permalink*
    January 20, 2009 2:55 pm

    I saw the fat kid in line to the bathroom and thought to myself – at least I won’t come in last.

    EEESH.

    The fat kid taught me yet another lesson in humility.

Leave a Reply

  • RSS What’s Scott Doing Now?

  • teamLARD Twitter Feed

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

