Skip to content

What Kind of Boats Will They be Racing In Prague?

April 29, 2009

Good question!

A little birdie told me they will be racing Swift boats at the World Championships and Euro Championships in Prague this summer.

Here’s a link to Swift.

I’ve never paddled in one so I have no opinion other than from the picture it looks like a BuK knock-off.   Sources say that there is more similarity than difference between the BuK and Swift.

This same bird told me the Swift boats will be appearing in the Seattle and Tacoma, Washington areas soon.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Barry permalink
    April 29, 2009 11:36 pm

    The SWIFT boats are already in use in Tacoma. I’ll be up there in 2 weeks (have a chance to paddle in one) and will bring back a report. Connie of Wasabi compared the SWIFT boats to the Champions used in Tempe (which are similar to the newest boats in LB). Will try to get some detailed photos for you. PS – Were the birdie’s initial’s JC?

  2. paddlesports permalink*
    April 30, 2009 7:25 am

    Thanks, Barry. Can’t wait to hear your report! That’s funny Connie made that comparison – when I was looking at the pictures, I thought they were Champions and that Champion changed it’s name. A quick google search told me otherwise.

    If you see Connie, tell her I said hi!

  3. Jason C permalink
    May 1, 2009 1:47 am

    I’m not the birdie, but the CDBA currently has two Swift boats at BIAC. I’ve paddled in them a handful of times. Yes, they are very similar to the newest Champions out in Long Beach, but I would give a slight nod to the Champions in regards to design and overall craftsmanship. Will pay more attention to details next time I’m out.

Leave a Reply

  • RSS What’s Scott Doing Now?

  • teamLARD Twitter Feed

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

