Skip to content

Mowing at Daikokuya

May 23, 2009

Last night, Vi and I went to try out Daikokuya– a ramen joint in Monterey Park.  I LOVE ramen.  Daikokuya has 2 other locations – one in Little Tokyo and the other in Costa Mesa.  Their official website can be found here.

Prior to trying this place out, the best ramen in the Monterey Park/Alhambra area that I have tried was Ajisen Ramen (Lori & Lilly – we went to Ajisen after your ink sessions)

Put simply, Daikokuya now has the best ramen in the SGV (of course, I’d be willing to try any ramen places anyone suggests).

Daidokuya is tucked away in the shopping center on the north-west corner of Atlantic and Garvey.  The place is TINY, so if you don’t want to have to wait for a table, go early.  The menu at Daikokuya is very simple – one type of ramen (pork) and one type of fried rice (pork).  There are also a handful of appetizers.

IMG_0631

We ordered the asparagus wrapped in pork.   The sauce you see tasted like terrayaki sauce (not sure if it has some fancy name or not).  I’m going to be ordering this again the next time I go back – which will be very soon.

IMG_0632Damn.  The ramen was SO good.  The ramen was firm and not overcooked and the soup was very tastey.  I could have done without the sprouts (or not as many).  The ramen also comes with what appears to be a peeled hard boiled eggs.  After biting into it, I was kind of surprised.  It was kind of like a “medium-rare” egg – the yolk and the white around the yolk were soft.  Interesting, it’s the first time I’ve had an egg like that.  If it freaks you out, just put it to the side or if I’m sitting next to you, give it to me (that’s what Vi did).

Although, I was full, I wanted another bowl – and another – and another.  I’m compulsive like that.

Next time I go, I’m going to try out the fried rice – maybe have it for dessert?  Let us know if you guys want to try it out – we’ll go with you!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. lori permalink
    May 23, 2009 8:07 pm

    Yummy.

  2. May 25, 2009 10:30 am

    is there any pork…?
    I’ve lined up at the JTown locale a few times and never made it in. After learning it’s all piggie based though it’s prob a good thing. My fav ramen joint is actually two shops down and the ramen is ample and yummy and has miso/tofu based soups. Anyone ever up for ramen in Jtown let me know! Mochi bakery AND yogurtland for dessert required!

  3. May 25, 2009 11:03 pm

    Hey J,
    What’s the name of the place? I am going to the East West Players sthis Friday.
    TK

Leave a Reply

  • RSS What’s Scott Doing Now?

  • teamLARD Twitter Feed

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

