Skip to content

Shout out to Kimm & Our LARD Family from Afar

June 23, 2009

Kimm was one of the paddlers that agreed to help us out.  Here’s her blog post about this past weekend.

Here’s what she had to say about LARD:

The reason why I think its the best one to boot is because of the team I paddled with who has a lot of heart :heart: . Instead of sparing for the whole weekend with the team I currently paddle with. I opted to paddle with LARD (Los Angeles Racing Dragons) who were short female paddlers for the woman’s races. In my 10 years of paddling in the adult category mostly on 2 boat teams/crews this is the 1st time I’ve seen a 2 boat team do everything together. I mean if the ladies had to be at the tent at 7am so were the guys for the support and everyone teams warm up together as a whole not this your on either the A or B boat for the whole season. You could be on the A boat for a festival and the B the next. More Vancouver teams need to learn from them I think.

Thank you, Kimm, Debbie, Ivan, Doug 1, Doug 2, Karen, Paul, Mike and Albert for your efforts this weekend.  The pleasure was truly ours!

Doug from Boston was so gracious in giving TeamLARD a copy of the newly published book “Paddles Up”.  Here’s Doug representing Los Angeles (the front of his shirt says “Los Angeles”) and Ken racing.

ReadyandReach is naming it’s first All Star Beer drinking team based on performances in the beer garden: Ken, Will, and Todd O.

P1020335(TK looks like she’s enjoying the race)

P1020303This man is rumored to practice with Coke.  Ken looking on, not too impressed.

P1020294Will proclaiming victory.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie Davidson permalink
    June 25, 2009 1:43 pm

    I had the greatest weekend paddling with LARD. What a lot of heart you have! For a womens team to knock 27 seconds off their time from Race 1 to 4 is remarkable. I will forever use you as an example of how a team can be competitive but still respectful of each other and good sports too.
    I was serious when I offered to come to Portland if you need or want me.
    Thank you..

    Debbie

  2. June 25, 2009 8:04 pm

    Thanks to all my LARD family — that includes the guest paddlers. You were all so kind and encouraging. I had the best time!
    Now about that the picture…I look like a friggin’ garden troll!

Leave a Reply

  • RSS What’s Scott Doing Now?

  • teamLARD Twitter Feed

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

