Skip to content

The Depth of My Dislike

July 17, 2009

So yesterday, I went to my usual sandwich shop to get some lunch before my journey to the West side.  As I walked in, I noticed that the line was a bit longer than usual (I usually have lunch either before 12 or after 1 to avoid the rush). 

Wanting no part of the line, I decided to finally try the mom and pop Italian sandwich joint the next door over. 

I walked in and noticed a whole bunch of sandwiches named after mafia-type people then saw one name that seemed out of place – the "Mark Sanchez" sandwich.  I thought to myself, "Hmmm, I only know one Mark Sanchez and I hate the school he played football for with every fiber in my body."

"This cannot be," I thought.

Then I turned around and saw the most appalling thing I have ever seen in Old Town Pasadena (a few miles away from the Rose Bowl where the Bruins play football) – a USC Football Shrine!  Complete with football helmet, flags and banners.  You know the Virgin Mary shrines you see in some Mexican restaurants?  Yeah, that kind of shrine.  In the f'ing restaurant!  In the middle of Bruin country.  What the hell? 

No wonder why "Pop" spends the lunch hour trying to convince people walking by to go into his sandwich shop.

So what did I order?

Nothing.

I turned around and walked out.  I'd rather it petrified cat shit than eat there.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • RSS What’s Scott Doing Now?

  • teamLARD Twitter Feed

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

