Skip to content

My New PFD

July 30, 2009

My new pfd arrives tomorrow!  Too bad I won't be using it for awhile…

I got it for $49 at Cabela's.

We have approval to use them for dragon boat practice but I'm not quite sure if we can race with them.

Thanks, Nick for finding this for me!

Nick and I are going to start a new fad on Mother's Beach!

Now, if they only came in red…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike permalink
    July 30, 2009 3:45 pm

    i would use one…only if i could race with them though…

  2. Nick permalink
    July 31, 2009 7:41 am

    Good job Scott! You can race with them at any USDBF sanctioned event. USDBF approved them for use last year.

  3. paddlesports permalink*
    July 31, 2009 7:47 am

    Is there a list of USDBF-sanctioned events?

    The USDBF’s website is the biggest piece of shit I have every seen. You get a 404 error when you try to go to the “PDBA – Western Regioal Link” (sic) section of the site.

    Since the USDBF’s site is so useless, I went to the PDBA’s website (pdbausa.org). They are the western affiliate of the USDBF. On their calender, they list Long Beach, Portland, and San Francisco as races.

    I’m assuming they only list PDBA Events which would likely also be USDBF sanctioned events.

    As such, it is likely we can use these pdf’s at all of LARD’s remaining races.

    I have sent an email to Mike B and Hans. I’ll let you know when I hear from them.

  4. mark feng permalink
    July 31, 2009 9:09 am

    I just ordered mine.

    Definitely less bulky than the PFD’s.
    Hopefully we can use them at races too.

  5. paddlesports permalink*
    July 31, 2009 9:56 am

    I just heard back from Hans and he said inflattable pfds are not allowed at the SF Races.

    Probably better that way as a traditional pfd is warmer and it’s usually freezing ass during that tournament.

  6. Megan permalink
    July 31, 2009 12:26 pm

    Hey guys. A little bit of a self -serving comment but it’s sincere…

    I’m a rep in the Midwest for Kokatat. If I’m in a race where I can’t wear my waistpack, I typically wear an Orbit. We have a race that is in a harbor of Lake Superior (read: cold beyond description) and foam PFD’s are a safer option.

    Anyway, I like the Orbit because it’s totally low profile, out of the way and doesn’t inhibit range of motion. Check it out at http://kokatat.com/product_detail.asp?code=orb

    I don’t sell them direct and have nothing to gain here. Just spreading some love.

  7. paddlesports permalink*
    July 31, 2009 12:33 pm

    Hey Meg,
    I came dangerously close to pulling the trigger on one of those pfds a few months back but decided not to as they don’t come in red. 😦

  8. Megan permalink
    July 31, 2009 7:57 pm

    Well, if there was to be a team order or sorts, there is some potential. We do them in pick for the survivor teams all the time. Actually, we’ll do any color that we have a available in minimum runs of 6’s. And because there are only two sizes, all you have to do is find 5 other blokes to go in on a size L/XL or S/MD with you. We can even embroider team names on them. We’re not the cheapest brand in the lot, but the materials are quality and we make the stuff in California.

  9. Megan permalink
    July 31, 2009 10:04 pm

    uh, PINK, for the Survivor Teams. grrr….

    You want red, I’ll get you red. Or black.

Leave a Reply

  • RSS What’s Scott Doing Now?

  • teamLARD Twitter Feed

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

