Skip to content

Microsoft is Forcing Me to Buy a 27″ iMac

November 9, 2009

My oldest running computer at home is a Sony Vaio Desktop that runs XP.  It’s about 8 or 9 years old. I pretty much stopped using it awhile ago but recently decided to fire it back up to log onto my office computer from home because the screen is a bit bigger than my 15″ MacBook Pro and my 12″ Dell XPS laptop.

It took a few hours to download the various XP updates that were released since the last time I turned the Vaio on.

Once the Vaio finished updating, it began to ask me for a serial number for Windows XP.  And that I had 30 days to “preview” the software. Thanks so much Microsoft for allowing me to preview an OS that was installed on my computer when I bought it.

The version of XP I have on the Vaio was preinstalled on my computer.  I never received any serial numbers.  A quick look at the original installation discs (yes, I still have them) contain no serial numbers for me to input.

I guess I’m SOL and there’s no other option than to buy an iMac.  ***sigh***

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. gary permalink
    November 11, 2009 12:56 pm

    any chance the cd-key sticker is on the bottom of the laptop?
    i have spare cd-keys.

  2. paddlesports permalink*
    November 11, 2009 12:59 pm

    Hmmm, the Vaio is a desktop and although it has stickers all over it, there is no sticker with the key on it. 😦

    • gary permalink
      November 11, 2009 1:02 pm

      have you checked the inside?! xP (if you break it in the process of looking for it, more of a reason to get something new).

      let me know if you want a cd-key.

  3. gary permalink
    November 11, 2009 1:00 pm

    i’m currently running the core 2 quad and it’s a great processor. def get the 27″ iMac with the quad.

Leave a Reply

  • RSS What’s Scott Doing Now?

  • teamLARD Twitter Feed

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

