Skip to content

Consumerist.com

January 31, 2010

Consumerist.com wrote an article about my recent quest to get Sony to replace my faulty LCD panel.

Scott has been a longtime and loyal Sony customer, but the company finally disappointed him. He writes that his lovely 46″ LCD began to produce strange images on one side of the screen for ten minutes after powering up–not catastrophic, but not acceptable for a $3,000 TV, either. The regular channels of customer service were no help, so Scott took his case to his blog and to Twitter.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2010 9:30 am

    I have had a similiar issue trying to get Sony to help me with my TV. I was wondering if I could get some help from you to resolve this. I would like to know with whom I can or should contact at Sony. I am having issues with their CSR dept. also. I was offer a refurbished unit for my T.V. which melted due to a known Sony defect. I have accepted the unit but have not received said unit after 3 months of dealing with this. I have a letter (email) ready to send but do not know who to contact. Thanks

    • paddlesports permalink*
      February 8, 2010 9:47 am

      Hi Andrew, I’m sorry to hear about your issues with your TV.
      I suggest you go to twitter and send a message to @TonyatSony. Sony has another twitter address that I have seemed to misplace. Perhaps you can find it with a few searches in twitter. Good luck.

      • Susan Kiraly permalink
        April 6, 2010 12:49 pm

        Dear Scott, I would appreciate knowing who you contacted or the process you underwent that assisted you in achieving success with the company. My 87-yr old Dad purchased an large screen tv from his meager pension last year. Because of his ill health, he cannot drive and has serious vision problems. He had the tv one year and 1 week after the warranty. The Customer Relations Dept will only offer us $900 toward a $1700 repair. If we accept their offer, Dad would have to pay another $800, which he simply cannot afford — besides — the entire tv cost only $1200! He has lung cancer, lives alone and his only enjoyment was this large screen television. Isn’t there someone within Sony that still operates with a sense of decency, fairness and just plain compassionate humanity? Or what about something I read referring to a “good will grace period warranty’ that ethical businesses will extend customers. We are 8 days over the warranty…not even 8 days. That was when we finally reported it…we thought Dad was just having difficulty with operating the remote. He kept having problems because of his minimal vision and would often be unable to turn the tv on properly without a family member coming to the rescue.

        Any ideas and/or suggestions would be most appreciated.

        Sincerely,
        Rev. Susan Kiraly

    • February 22, 2010 4:59 pm

      I have the same exact issue with my Sony KDL52XBR4, see my blog for the pain I am going through. Still no favorable response from Sony as yet.

  2. February 22, 2010 5:00 pm

    http://defectivesonylcdtv.blogspot.com/

    I have the same exact issue with my Sony KDL52XBR4, see my blog for the pain I am going through. Still no favorable response from Sony as yet.

  3. Jeff E permalink
    March 10, 2010 5:43 pm

    My TV has that same problem with the pastel vertical lines.
    Time to switch to Samsung

  4. April 26, 2010 5:06 am

    I’m having a similar problem too. My KDL-52W3000 was just barely 2 years old when it developed double vision/mirrored image. It works for about 20 minutes then starts that crap. I paid $75 for an authorized Sony repair tech to come out and tell me it was a bad panel. The cost to repair: $3000!!! I paid $2400 for the tv 2 YEARS AGO?!!! This same tv was $1600 new before Christmas of ’09!

    Sony customer relations was a joke and no help at all. Is there someone other than the @twitter to contact?

  5. Dan permalink
    September 7, 2010 12:40 am

    We bought our Sony 46-inch in June 2008 and by Nov. 2009, the picture was bad. Sony’s gold standard service repair says it’s a panel and a $1,400 repair. After arguiing, Sony agreed to pay half, but then the repair guy calls and says the panel is no longer made. A new panel needs 2 additional parts to fit. Now it’s $2,200 and Sony will only pay $900. Three offers on new TVs: $925 for a Bravia 46 inch; $1,100 for a Wifi; and $550 for a 40 inch; or the $900 for repair. Not to mention the one-week time limit they’re giving me to decide. One rep said I could have a month, then two days later, another rep calls and says there is no record of that, and I only have one week.

Leave a Reply

  • RSS What’s Scott Doing Now?

  • teamLARD Twitter Feed

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

