Skip to content

Upgrading to the iPhone 4 & Unlimited Data Plans

June 8, 2010

I played tech geek yesterday following WWDC via engadget and live.twit.tv as Steve Jobs introduced the (previously leaked) iPhone 4.

I was impressed (as usual) with the new iPhone.  My only question was about AT&T’s unlimited data plan.  AT&T is phasing out this plan.  New AT&T accounts will not have the option of the unlimited data plan.  Rather, users will have to choose between various levels of data caps.

With the iPads, AT&T said that if you had the unlimited plan as of yesterday, you would be grandfathered in so you could retain the unlimited data for your iPad.  I upgraded to unlimited.  My reasoning was that although last month, the 250mb allotment was more than enough, I had no idea how I would be using my iPad in the upcoming months as new apps were released.

I have 3 iPhones and a Blackberry Bold on my AT&T plan and I’m looking to upgrade all 3 iPhones to the iPhone 4.  Naturally, I was curious as to whether I would be able to keep the unlimited data plans on my phones, so I called AT&T.

The rep told me, after reviewing documentation, that if I upgraded my iPhones (even if I upgraded only one), I could retain the unlimited data plans as long as those phone numbers remained on my account.

Just to be sure, I did a cursory internet search.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to find anything definitive either way as to whether I would be able to retain the unlimited data plans upon upgrade.

I’m sure more info will be coming out in the very near future.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 8, 2010 1:28 pm

    Answers to your questions here:
    http://www.cnn.com/2010/TECH/mobile/06/08/cnet.iphone.4/

Leave a Reply

  • RSS What’s Scott Doing Now?

  • teamLARD Twitter Feed

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

