Skip to content

Fugly Shoes

July 2, 2010

My perfect land training shoe is something that is low to the ground, light with some lateral support, and super responsive.  The New Balance 805s fit that bill well for me but New Balance decided to stop making them and to make matters worse, there’s nothing in their line that replaces them.  Sure, I can go with the New Balance 100s but those are trail running shoes.

A lot of you are wearing the Nike Free for training but I am opposed to Nike running shoes.  Perhaps it was the debacle that was high school basketball conditioning.  I chose to wear Nike running shoes because it was a cool brand.  Never mind that I have flat duck feet and back then they were only making narrow running shoes.

I gave the Nike Frees a quick run around the shop and they were pretty good.  Then I tried on the Brooks Green Silence.  Wow, they were light, low to the ground and felt awesome.  There was only one problem – they were fugly (f@#$ing ugly).

The only redeeming quality about the look of these shoes is that there’s some red and black in them.  What the hell is up with the yellow and the different colored soles?  MY GOD, THEY ARE UGLY.

We’ll see how they perform…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. TDo permalink
    July 2, 2010 9:00 pm

    do my eyes deceive me? are those SUC colors???

  2. paddlesports permalink*
    July 2, 2010 9:45 pm

    Shit. TDo, Vi seems to think the same thing. I think the red is actually red not that diarrhea red of USC. Either way, the colors are too close. I am taking them back.

  3. jeannie permalink
    July 3, 2010 5:26 pm

    hey I’ve been wanting to try those! lol. No, they are lard colors with some “gold” yeah that’s right. I’ve read the same reviews – comfy, light, ugly. I’m waiting for them to develop some other green non-green colors.

  4. lori permalink
    July 3, 2010 9:31 pm

    unacceptable.

  5. paddlesports permalink*
    July 4, 2010 5:42 am

    I like that – LARD colors with some gold but I’m still returning ’em.

  6. kenny permalink
    July 7, 2010 7:33 am

    first thought that pooped into my head was, “doesn’t ronald mcdonald have a pair like that?”

Leave a Reply

  • RSS What’s Scott Doing Now?

  • teamLARD Twitter Feed

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

