Skip to content

Thank You, Kialoa!

July 28, 2010

Kialoa Paddles is graciously sponsoring the Southern California Dragon Boat Club (SCDBC)/International Cultural Exchange Association’s (ICEA) 10-man Dragon Boat Team that will be racing in Shanghai later this summer. The team is comprised of some of Long Beach’s best paddlers from TeamLARD, Space Dragons and the Killer Guppies.

Today, I received the box with the paddles we will be racing with and the shirts (Patagonia Capilene 1) we will be wearing in Shanghai.

I visually compared these new Kialoa Hybrid Dragon Hybrid Paddles to two of my favorite paddles – the Kialoa prototype/first gen Dragon Hybrid Paddle I used in my previous review and the Burnwater Reactor II.

As I mentioned in a previous post on R&R, the 202a Spec Modification allows for a sharper blade tip. Guess what these new Kialoas have? Yup, my dream has come true.

Here’s a comparison of the first Kialoa Dragon Hybrid Paddle (left), the current Kialoa Dragon Hybrid Paddle I just received (center), and the Burnwater Reactor II (right).

Clearly, the new Kialoas are sharper. I can’t wait to get these paddles in the water.

Thanks again Kialoa for your generous support.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. jeannie permalink
    July 29, 2010 10:13 am

    Awesome!!!

  2. Patrick permalink
    August 10, 2010 3:04 pm

    when are they coming out with the new models?

    • effectivepull permalink*
      August 10, 2010 3:40 pm

      Good question. Kialoa reps frequent this blog – perhaps they can shed some light on this.

  3. Megan permalink
    August 11, 2010 9:28 am

    I imagine we need to push out some stock first. Probably helped by the fact that I just bought 25 blades for my club crews to use…

    I’ll find out and get back to you. Thanks for your support, guys.

    • Megan permalink
      August 11, 2010 8:31 pm

      Okay here’s the skinny….

      As I thought, this is version 1.1. (I wanted to verify that there wasn’t a version 1.3 that I was out of the loop from knowing) Version 1.0 are affectionately referred to be me as “The Fatties”.

      The Fatties were to IDBF spec. Dave Chun followed the rules. He didn’t love the rules (my interpretation) but he followed them to pass the test and get the IDBF license.

      Turns out, as I have mentioned before, not all manufacturers were following the rules after they obtained their license. THEN, the IDBF said… “Oh well… it’s okay we guess”, or something like that. But we’ve been through this. So we changed our blades.

      The answer to the question is, THEY ARE AVAILABLE RIGHT NOW. If any of you fine LARDies (not to be confused with Fatties) were at Alcan, the thinner, sexier blades were at the Kialoa tent.

      Free Kialoa stickers (a variety) for the first person who tells me what “Kialoa” means.

  4. effectivepull permalink*
    August 11, 2010 8:39 pm

    Thanks for the response, Megan! I think kialoa means a tall, well-proportioned woman. 😉

Leave a Reply

  • RSS What’s Scott Doing Now?

  • teamLARD Twitter Feed

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

