Skip to content

Club Crew World Championship Results

July 30, 2010

The race results can be found here.  The races were in Macua.

Man, the IDBF website BLOWS.  If Fred Flintstone had a website, it would look just like the IDBF’s.  Perhaps they can pay Kenny to redo it.  Or hell, just use wordpress.com.

Some video of the 2000m Open Division:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Megan permalink
    July 30, 2010 8:46 am

    Don’t even get me started on the USDBF. Nothing…nada….zip for posting on the National’s event last week. My facebook page was a better, if not the only, current postings of times and races.

    Just out of curiosity, or maybe to stir the pot, why no west coast teams at US Nationals this year?

  2. paddlesports permalink*
    July 30, 2010 9:32 am

    I love stirring pots. 😉

    As for US Nationals, I can’t speak for other teams, hell, I can’t even speak for my team, but some factors:
    ~ Chickamauga Dam, Tennessee is not on many people’s lists of places to visit. Part of figuring out if I want to go to a race is where the race is being held – I’m sure I’m not the only one.
    ~ It would be very difficult for my team to assemble our “top” crew to travel to a land-locked state across the U.S. to race in a dam.
    ~IMO, the USDBF used about the same amount of energy promoting this race as they did creating and maintaining their website (yes, their website sucks too ).
    ~In the past the USDBF didn’t give a shit about rec/club crews. It seems it has been all about medals and elite-level paddlers. I understand they are doing their best to change focus at do more for clubs but so far, at least from my side of the continent, it has only been rhetoric – rhetoric that started when ICF showed an interest in dragon boat (by the way, I’m no longer associated with Dragon Boat USA as I have never had to deal with such, to put it nicely, egotistical people.
    ~ It was a few weeks before a race many of us consider more important – the Long Beach Festival.

    How’s that for stirring the pot? 🙂

  3. Megan permalink
    August 11, 2010 9:32 am

    Pot successfully stirred. Not shakin’. In fact, I think it ran through a blender.

    When you say Dragon Boat USA, are you referring to the national team? (There are a few ice cubes in there that didn’t quite get chopped up.)

  4. Wayne permalink
    August 11, 2010 1:58 pm

    LOL

    That is a video of the Scotia Rouge Piranhas (SRP) from Canada, I’m in seat 4 – right side =P

Leave a Reply

  • RSS What’s Scott Doing Now?

  • teamLARD Twitter Feed

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

