Skip to content

Un-Apple Like

September 21, 2010

I have had 4 iPhones and currently have a 27″ iMac and two Macbook Pros. My AT&T account has 3 iPhones on it. We also have 2 iPads and multiple iPods (nanos, shuffles, etc.). Frankly, I love Apple’s products – all of them except Mobile Me.

If Mobile Me was a non-Apple product, people would mock it much more. Despite it’s problems, I have given it many chances because, well, it’s Apple. Well, it’s time to call a spade a spade. Apple’s Mobile Me sucks. It sucks bad and it’s technical support is worse.

I pay Apple $100/year per account (I pay for 2) to use its Mobile Me service. In the past, I have had duplicate calendar events and contacts. Now, I’ve lost all my contacts and events on my iPhone. I’ll call technical support, I thought, they are sure to help. After all, Apple’s customer support is legendary. Right?  Wrong. Mobile Me doesn’t offer technical support over the phone.

When I need technical support, I can’t call them. They won’t take my call but would be more than willing to have a internet chat session with me? Really?

I’m seriously looking for a Mobile Me replacement.

This is very un-Apple like. I’m currently waiting as the current wait time is “more than 15 minutes” before I can have a chat with a rep.

Apple, I am embarrassed for you.

UPDATE: So I started the the “chat process” at 12:51 p.m.  After multiple deletions of calendars, events, contacts and tons of time staring at my computer waiting for a response, it’s not 3:17 p.m. and I’m told, and I quote, “Thank you for waiting Scott I do apologize for the wait, I have spoken with a senior advisor. They currently are investigating the issue and will contact you via email with 48 hours with a follow up.”

ABSOLUTELY UNBELIEVABLE.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Vi Huynh permalink
    September 22, 2010 9:25 am

    Why don’t you just make an appointment at the genius bar?

    • effectivepull permalink*
      September 22, 2010 4:57 pm

      I prefer telephone support. Making an appointment, marching into the Apple Store with computer and iPhone in tow is even more time consuming than participating in a “chat”.

Leave a Reply

  • RSS What’s Scott Doing Now?

  • teamLARD Twitter Feed

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

