Skip to content

Thoughts on iTac2 Sports Grip

November 1, 2010

As I mentioned in one of my previous posts, I first encountered iTac2 when I received a small sample at a dragon boat clinic I attended earlier this year.

After that post, I was contacted by a local rep for iTac2 and he sent me a few more samples to do some further testing.  I decided to test it out a few weekends before the San Diego Race and even raced with it in San Diego.

The first time around, back in April, I was using it wrong.  As the sample I received didn’t include instructions, I thought iTac2 was to be used just like regular wax.  So I began to slather iTac2 onto my paddle’s shaft.  The results were mixed – some of my teammates like wax-fiend Aaron liked it.  I, on the other hand, didn’t think it gave me an advantage over traditional wax.

This time around, the rep told me that a proper application of iTac2 required you to rub a small amount on your hands, then let it dry for 30 seconds before paddling.  Letting it dry prior to paddling is critical to obtaining an optimal grip.

Following the rep’s advice to a tee, I placed what I thought was a small amount in my hands and rubbed them together as if I was using soap or antibacterial lotion.  My bottom hand’s grip on the shaft was very good; however, my top hand was sticking to the paddle handle – a very foreign feeling.  Also, my fingers were sticking together as I had applied what turned out to be way too much iTac2.

So the following weekend, I decided to alter the application slightly.  I rubbed a small amount on the fingers of my lower hand (the only point of contact my bottom hand has with the shaft) with only the index finger of my top hand and let it sit for 30 seconds.   Ahhh, I had found, at least for me, the magical application.

My bottom hand (fingers) grip was fantastic.  No slipping at all.  And since I didn’t apply any to the palm of my top hand, I didn’t have a sticky top hand.

What did it feel like?  My bottom hand didn’t slip.  It felt kind of sticky – kind of like using pine tar on a bat in baseball (or Gorilla Grip on a dragon boat or outrigger paddle).

The great things about iTac2 is that it’s clean.  There’s no wax build up mess (have you seen the wax build up on my paddles?) and it works for both bare handers and paddlers that are stuck in the 90s wearing gloves.  😉  Storing iTac2 is much cleaner than storing wax.  It comes in a plastic container – no more melted wax all over your pfd and paddling gear!

Also, if you are a pole dancer, you can use iTac2 as well.

I would encourage you to experiment with iTac2 before racing with it as the amount and the way you apply the iTac2 will be a huge determinate in how good your grip is.

Some things that you should know about: the initial cost is more than wax.  Paddle wax can be had for less than $10 per bar while iTac2 retails for $15.

If you decide to give iTac2 a whirl, I would suggest you clean off any wax you may have on your paddle.  Not only will your paddle look clean, it will allow the iTac2 to provide optimal grip.

Tell iTac2 you read about them here!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kenny permalink
    November 4, 2010 4:15 pm

    love the pole dance grip video. sweeeet!

    how long do you think that little 45g jar would last for $15?

  2. November 8, 2010 9:29 am

    Hi,

    Thanks Scott for the review on iTac2. Regarding number of uses, each 45gram container should last between 80 -100 applications. A little iTac2 goes a long way.

    Thanks,

    Peter

Leave a Reply

  • RSS What’s Scott Doing Now?

  • teamLARD Twitter Feed

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

