Skip to content

Canon S95 in Low Light at Disneyland’s Aladdin Musical

March 27, 2011

Vi and I decided to swing by Disneyland today.  The weather looked kind of rough in the morning so I didn’t bother taking the DSLR.  Rather, I took the Canon S95 – Canon’s small point and shoot.

We ended up checking out the Aladdin Musical show.  I had never tried out the S95 in low light conditions so I wanted to see what kind of pictures the S95 could take without light.  We sat in the 2nd row of the Mezzanine section to get an optimal view of the flying carpet.

I shot in manual mode at ISO 1600, f4.9, 1/400, 22.5mm with a RAW file output.   As flash photography wasn’t allowed during the show, the flash didn’t fire (it wouldn’t have helped anyways).  I cropped the photos for a bit more impact and slightly changed the white balance in post.

First, the image with no post processing noise reduction.  I sharpened for output using Nik’s Sharpener 3.0.

I was expecting a massive amount of noise but was pleasantly surprised by the image on the camera’s LCD and what it looked like in Aperture 3.  Definitely not ugly straight out of the camera.

I ran the image below through Nik’s Define 2.0 to reduce noise.  I also sharpened for output.

In my opinion, the hype is to be believed.  The Canon S95 does extremely well in low light conditions.

Next time, I’ll push a bit more and see what it looks like at 3200 ISO.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • RSS What’s Scott Doing Now?

  • teamLARD Twitter Feed

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

