Skip to content

I Was Fooling Myself…

July 4, 2011

I played golf today at Tustin Ranch Golf Club today with Dr. Will, Miguel and Dr. Will’s friend Bill.  I was never a really good golfer.  When I was playing at my best I would shoot in the lower 90s or high 80s.  I practiced quite a bit and would have a general idea where the ball would be going on most swings.

These days, I don’t practice golf at all.  I just don’t have the burning desire to be a good golfer like I used to.  Because of the lack of practice, I can’t have the expectations I had when I was practicing more.  I had slight hope I could play a round in the low-90s.  I was fooling myself.  My low-90s goals were quickly dashed as I began to assemble a few triple bogeys.   My goals quickly morphed into trying not to hit tee shots that resemble a baseball coach hitting infield practice and to try to get the ball airborne on every swing.  I was able to accomplish my newly created goals for some of my swings.  🙂

Nevertheless, I had a great time out on the course with my brother and friends.

I brought out my Canon 7d and 70-200 f2.8L lens out to the course.  The light – especially the first few holes was great as we teed of at 6:00 a.m.  Well, I teed off a bit later as Google Maps stranded me in the middle of Tustin without a golf course anywhere near by.  The above is Miguel hitting into the sun on one of the first few holes.  Before taking this shot, I was thinking about getting Miguel in a silhouette hitting into the sun but didn’t have enough time to get to the exposure compensation buttons before Miguel pulled the trigger.  Nevertheless, I like the result.

Here’s Dr. Will – not a particularly fancy action shot but I love the morning light coming from camera right.  No, that’s not a Photoshop trick – that’s a white belt.

Right before one of my tee shots on the back 9, the guys told me they saw a parrot chilling nearby.  So I quickly sculled my tee shot to the women’s tees then ran to the cart to get the camera.  I love the shadows cast by the tree that lead to and away from the parrot.

The benefit of photographing friends playing golf is you can get angles you can’t get when you are shooting at golf tournaments.  Setting up down the line is a no-no in tournaments – not so when shooting your friends.

One Comment leave one →
  1. joseph permalink
    July 6, 2011 5:14 pm

    dude! what an awesome blog and the photos are bitchin. check out dr. will with the nice impact position and the divot. reminds me of ben hogan! and miguel’s looking good too.

    yeah, shooting in the the low 90’s without practicing is quite the achievement. i play and practice all the time, and i still manage to find away to get into the high 80’s/low 90’s on occassion. GOLF–four letter word.

    p.s. white golf belts with white shoes are for PLAYAS only!

Leave a Reply

  • RSS What’s Scott Doing Now?

  • teamLARD Twitter Feed

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

