Skip to content

Exploding Medicine Balls – My Medicine Ball Recommendation

March 2, 2012

This Sunday, LARD will bust out the medicine balls for training for the first time this young season.  I have seen quite a few different medicine balls over the years – some good, some, well, not so good.

I’ve seen plastic balls with sand in them. These do not work so well as the plastic will, sooner rather than later, burst. Before they break, they warp. I’ve also seen balls that don’t bounce – kind of like a shotput.  I’ve also seen synthetic leather balls filled with sand in them. These don’t last too long either.

I recommend Nike’s medicine ball in your weight of choice. I have had my 10 pounder for about 4 years now and it’s bullet proof. It’s durable, is grippy and bounces. It looks like a colored basketball but really heavy.  This ball is great for slamming-type throws.  Here’s a link to the newer version of my ball. It’s not the cheapest ball but you’ll be happy with it and it will last you multiple seasons.

I’ve also seen Valeo’s ball that is pretty similar to the Nike ball I have. A few LARDies have that ball and it seems like a pretty good ball although I’ve never used one.

I’m not paid by Nike, nor is my team sponsored by Nike (although that would be pretty cool).

I don’t recommend getting those balls with the handles built into them – especially if you are throwing the ball to a partner.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • RSS What’s Scott Doing Now?

  • teamLARD Twitter Feed

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

