Skip to content

Capture the Moment

March 7, 2013

I recently had the opportunity to photograph a one-year old’s birthday banquet. I’m pretty particular when it comes to photographing events since photography is not my day job, I can be selective in the shoots that I do. I’m thankful for that.

The family was Korean and the traditional doljanchi ceremony was to take place right after the banquet. Mom told me that I could under no circumstances miss the moment when her son reached for the item on the table that would foretell his future.

As a sports photographer, I was confident I would be able to capture the magical moment. The moment below is a few frames after he reached for the coin that symbolized that he would be rich in life. Although it is not the precise moment he reached for the coin, I think this shot tells the whole story. I love this shot because of mom’s reaction when she realized her son was going to be rich.

 13.03.03 Astro Lee 1st Birthday 0047  by Scott Wu-451

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 7, 2013 7:17 pm

    My firstborn picked the pen. Sadly, she will likely be broke but smart, like her parents.

Leave a Reply

  • RSS What’s Scott Doing Now?

  • teamLARD Twitter Feed

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

